Election of members to the Board of Directors of Telenor ASA

Press release
5 minute read
Alternative descriptive text

The Corporate Assembly for Telenor ASA has in its meeting on 10 May 2023 elected Jens Petter Olsen as Chair of the Board of Directors, with effect from 10 May 2023 for a period of up to two years.

“I am grateful for the trust that the Corporate Assembly has given me. Telenor has an ambitious new strategy to secure long-term growth while developing great services for more customers. I am looking forward to getting to know the Board of Directors, the management and the employees, and to start working on the important tasks ahead for the company,” says Olsen.

Olsen is the Vice Chair of the Board of Directors at DNB, where he also chairs the Risk Management Committee. He has been a member of the Board of Directors at DNB since 2019. From 2008 to 2018, he was employed at Danske Bank mainly in various management positions. Olsen also has more than ten years of experience from Norges Bank and Norges Bank Investment Management (NBIM), including heading the New York office of NBIM from 2000 to 2008. He has a degree in Economics and Business Administration (Siviløkonom HAE) from Norwegian School of Economics and a Master of Philosophy (Finance) from London Business School.

“Jens Petter Olsen’s solid international background, his management experience and his knowledge of capital markets have been central in his nomination and election as Chair. Together with the rest of the elected board members, we have strong competence in the Board of Directors of Telenor ASA,” says Bjørn Erik Næss, Chair of the Nomination Committee.

In addition to the election of the Chair, Jan Geldmacher, Gyrid Skalleberg Ingerø and Ottar Ertzeid were elected as new members of the Board of Directors of Telenor ASA. Gunn Wærsted, Jørgen Kildahl, Jon Erik Reinhardsen, and Elisabetta Ripa resign from the Board with effect from 10 May 2023.

The Corporate Assembly further resolved to re-elect Irene Vold and elect Sune Jakobsson and Esben Smistad as new employee elected members of the Board of Directors of Telenor ASA. The new directors will succeed Jan Otto Eriksen and Roger Rønning. As deputy members for the employee representatives, the following were elected: Tom Espen Doknes, Henrik Yttervik, Jørgen Finnby and Kjetil Kjellstadli (in the order elected as deputy for Sune Jakobsson and Irene Vold) and Roger Rønning, Anita Steine and Sabah Qayyum (in the order elected as deputy for Esben Smistad).

The board members and deputies were elected with effect from 10 May 2023 for a period up until two years.

The Board of Directors of Telenor ASA shall according to Telenor ASA’s Articles of Association consist of between 5 and 13 members. Following the election by the Corporate Assembly, the Board of Directors will have ten members, including the three employee representatives, as follows:

- Jens Petter Olsen (Chair)
- Pieter Cornelis Knook
- Astrid Simonsen Joos
- Nina Bjornstad
- Jan Geldmacher
- Gyrid Skalleberg Ingerø
- Ottar Ertzeid
- Sune Jakobsson (employee representative)
- Esben Smistad (employee representative)
- Irene Vold (employee representative)

Investor relations contact:
Håkon Hatlevik, +47 901 46 070

Media contact:
David Fidjeland, +47 934 67 224