The Telenor Culture Prize to Liv Ullmann

Press release
4 minute read
The Telenor Culture Prize for 2009 goes to actress and film director Liv Ullmann. The prize, named "Boundless Communication", will be awarded at the National Theatre Monday night.
The prize is awarded for the fourteenth time. The prize winner hails from the world of films, a world that also embraces music, drama, litterature and set design. Liv Ullmann receives the award of NOK 250,000 for her outstanding and uncompromising quality as an actress and film director, both nationally and internationally.

Impressive achievments

"We congratulate Liv Ullmann with the Telenor Culture Prize 2009. During more than 50 years, Ullmann has impressed us with her contributions in front of as well as behind the cameras. Telenor's Culture Prize is awarded individuals, groups and institutions that have contributed substantially to the national or international cultural life. As a communications provider based in Norway but with an increasing international presence, Telenor utilises Norwegian and international culture as a bridge builder. Therefore, we are very pleased that this year's prize winner has a clear international profile", said Telenor Group President and CEO, Jon Fredrik Baksaas.

International celebrity

The jury said: "She has worked with the greatest directors. On their side, they got to work with a unique actress. She has had the leading roles in films that have left lasting trails in the history of films. She masters most genres, chamber plays and epic odysseys, and she has been nominated to the Academy Awards twice."

Awarded for the 14th time

The Telenor Culture Prize, "Boundless Communication", is part of the Telenor Culture Programme, that was established in 1995 to underline the values of the company.

Previous award winners include actor Svein Tindberg, painter Wenche Øien, choreographer Kjersti Alveberg, singer, musician and songwriter Kari Bremnes, author and film director Torun Lian, actor Juni Dahr, author Ingvar Ambjørnsen, independent theatre company Verdensteatret, dancer Ingrid Lorentzen, actor Anne Marit Jacobsen, The International Museum of Children's Art, and percussionist, ensemble leader and composer Marilyn Mazur, and photographer Jonas Bendiksen.

The jury is chaired by choreographer Kjersti Alveberg. Also serving on the jury are representatives from international and Norwegian cultural life and Telenor: Shanti Brahmachari, Robert Marc Friedman, Lars Saabye Christensen, Ingrid Kindem, Thorbjørn Harr and Kai Rosenberg.

For further information, please contact:

Esben Tuman, Communications Manager in Telenor

Mobile: +47 905 08 400, E-mail:

To the editorial offices:

• The award takes place at the National Theatre in Oslo, Monday 14.09.2009 at 7 PM

• Liv Ullmann and Jon Fredrik Baksaas will be available for interviews immediately after the awards ceremony.