Gunn Wærsted proposed as new Chair of the Board of Telenor ASA

Press release
1 minute read
The Nomination Committee of Telenor ASA proposes Ms. Gunn Wærsted as the new Chair of the Board of Telenor ASA.
Gunn Wærsted (born in 1955) is Executive Vice President and member of the Group Executive Management in Nordea Bank and Country Senior Executive in Nordea Bank Norway. During her career, she has held a number of senior executive positions within banking and insurance, among these are positions as CEO of SpareBank 1 Gruppen and the SpareBank 1 Alliansen, Group Executive Vice President of DNB and CEO of Vital Forsikring.

Wærsted is Chair of the Board of Petoro and has previously been a board member of Statoil, Statkraft and Ferd Holding. Wærsted holds a Master of Business and Administration (siviløkonom) from BI Norwegian Business School.

Telenor’s Corporate Assembly is responsible for the election of the Chair of the Telenor Board. The Corporate Assembly will consider this proposal in its meeting on 17December 2015.


Anders Skjævestad
Chairman of the Corporate Assembly and Nomination Committee of Telenor ASA
Mobile: +47 934 07 403

Severin Roald
SVP and Head of Group Communications of Telenor ASA
Mobile: +47 920 30 033