Svein Aaser elected new Chairman of the Board of Telenor ASA

The Corporate Assembly of Telenor ASA has on 16 May 2012 elected Svein Aaser as Chairman of the Board of Directors, succeeding Harald Norvik.

Published: 16 May 2012 20:17

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Svein Aaser was CEO of Den norske Bank and DnB NOR from 1998 to 2007. He was previously CEO of Nycomed from 1987 to 1996. He has also been the CEO of Storebrand Skade, Nora Matprodukter and Stabburet Nora. He has served as president of The Confederation of Norwegian Enterprise (NHO) and as Chairman of Finance Norway (FNO). Today, Aaser is the Chairman of the Board of Statkraft and Det Norske Oljeselskap.

In a comment Svein Aaser said he is looking forward to working with the Board and management team at Telenor ASA. “Telenor is among the largest mobile operators in the world and they have achieved a strong market position in a short period of time, both in Europe and in Asia. I look forward to learning more about the organisation and its markets.”

The Corporate Assembly also elected Anders Skjævestad to succeed Jan Erik Korssjøen as Chairman of the Corporate Assembly and thus Chairman of the Nomination Committee. Mr. Skjævestad has been member of the Corporate Assembly and the Nomination Committee since 2009.
Tor Odland, Vice President, Group Communications, Telenor Group. Mobile: +47 9909 0872.