Telenor’s culture prize to Jonas Bendiksen

Telenor’s culture prize for 2008 goes to the internationally acknowledged Norwegian photographer Jonas Bendiksen. The prize is called “Boundless communication”, and will be presented at Bærum Kulturhus Monday night.

Published: 22 September 2008 14:26

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Jonas Bendiksen is awarded the prize of NOK 250,000 for his groundbreaking photographic art, through which he communicates an artistic experience combined with a pressing message about living conditions on the outskirts of civilisation.

Impressing and important

“We congratulate Jonas Bendiksen with Telenor’s culture prize for 2008, which is being presented for the thirteenth time. Several of Telenor’s companies operate in developing countries, contributing to growth and social development. Bendiksen tells stories about people living in circumstances that make a strong impact, and we are proud to support such an impressing and important artist,” said President and CEO of Telenor, Jon Fredrik Baksaas.

International recognition

The jury has also this year decided on a winner with an international profile. In its statement, the jury said, “His work maintains without a doubt the highest artistic quality, while at the same time conveying a message so profoundly relevant in our time that he is rapidly gaining acknowledgement and well deserved international recognition.”

Continued work

“It’s a great honour to receive this year’s cultural award, and one that means a lot for me and my work. In today’s media landscape, it is often a challenge to direct serious attention to themes such as poverty and marginalized communities. For this reason, I appreciate the support greatly, and will use it to continue my work in these areas,” said Jonas Bendiksen.

About Telenor’s Culture Prize

Telenor’s Culture Prize is part of Telenor’s Culture Programme, which was established in 1995, in an effort to underpin the Group’s core values. Previous award winners include actor Svein Tindberg, painter Wenche Øien, choreographer Kjersti Alveberg, singer, musician and songwriter Kari Bremnes, author and film director Torun Lian, actor Juni Dahr, author Ingvar Ambjørnsen, independent theatre company Verdensteatret, dancer Ingrid Lorentzen, actor Anne Marit Jacobsen, The International Museum of Children’s Art, and percussionist, ensemble leader, and composer Marilyn Mazur.

The jury is chaired by Bjørn Kruse, Professor at the Norwegian Academy of Music. Also serving on the jury are representatives from Norwegian and international cultural life, and Telenor: Kjersti Alveberg, Shanti Brahmachari, Robert Marc Friedman, Lars Saabye Christensen, Thorbjørn Harr, and Kai Rosenberg.

To the editorial offices:

The prize will be awarded at Bærum Kulturhus, Monday 22 Sept 2008 at 19:00 CET.

Photos from the award ceremony will be published on: and by Scanpix.

For more information on Jonas Bendiksen: or


Scott Engebrigtsen, Head of PR & Media

E-mail: , Tel.: +47 90 04 34 84